

Eumedion Thesis Prize 2015

Call for theses on the impact of shareholders on companies

Eumedion invites students to submit theses for its 2015 Thesis Prize

Since last year, a specific ESG theme is connected to the Eumedion Thesis Prize. In 2015, Eumedion would like to receive theses that focus on the theme 'The impact of shareholders on companies'.

All aspects of the impact of shareholders on companies are eligible for the prize, including – but not limited to – the thesis, including the voting behaviour of shareholders, the dialogue between shareholders and listed companies, shareholder activism, impact investing, exclusion policies, integrating ESG factors in the investment process and aspects in relation to shareholder proposals.

So, does your thesis exhibit significant new work and originality in this field? And is the content well explained and does it demonstrate a good understanding of the subject? Please, join the thesis competition!

The only thing you have to do is submitting your thesis before **31 October 2015**.

Terms of references

Before entering the competition, please take notice of the following terms:

- Theses awarded a Master's or doctoral degree by a Dutch University or Higher Education are eligible for consideration
- Non Dutch nationals are eligible but their theses must have been made at a Dutch University or at a Dutch University of Applied Sciences ('Hogeschool').
- Your thesis should focus on engaged share-ownership, and be written either in English or Dutch.
- Your thesis was awarded with a grade of 8 or higher.

Procedure

Submitted applications will be reviewed by the Eumedion Thesis Prize Jury. The prize is awarded to the author of the thesis who, in the opinion of the Jury, best demonstrates originality, clarity of argument and potential impact.

The winning candidate will be awarded a certificate and a monetary of € 2500, in cash.

The prize will be presented to the winner at the Eumedion Participants Meeting on 10 December 2015.

Submit

Your thesis can be sent as an email attachment to **info@eumedion.nl** by the deadline of 31 October 2015.

Previous winners

2014

Nouredyn el Sawy, University of Groningen For his thesis *'Learning Geology before the Earthquake; The influence of faultlines in boards of directors on post-M&A firm value and performance'*

2013

Bastiaan Hanewacker, University of Groningen

For his thesis 'The influence of anti-takeover provisions on acquirer returns in continental Europe and the UK'.

2012

Stefan Wissing, VU University Amsterdam For his thesis (in Dutch) 'De Transparantielacune gedicht? Een kritische beschouwing van de meldingsplichten uit de short selling-Verordening en het wetsvoorstel Corporate Governance'.

2011

Sanne Rosendaal, Erasmus University Rotterdam For her thesis 'Sustainability targets in executive remuneration; An analysis of the contribution of sustainability targets in executive remuneration to sustainable development'.

2010

Bart Bootsma, Erasmus University Rotterdam For his thesis (in Dutch) 'Financiële prikkels voor aandeelhouders; Tot waar mag het gelijkheidsbeginsel worden gebogen?'

2009

Sanne van der Meer, University of Groningen For her thesis 'Supervisory Board Compensation: Paying for Complexity; An empirical investigation of the aspects influencing'.

2008

Jos Beckers, University of Nijmegen

For his thesis (in Dutch) 'Eendracht maakt macht - Op zoek naar een toverformule ter regulering van acting in concert'.

The winning theses can be downloaded from Eumedion's website: www.eumedion.nl.